Financing Your Life

Turret lathe operator machining parts for tran...

Image via Wikipedia

So many people today don’t look forward to their retirement – with no way to make ends meet.  And, getting up tomorrow and heading in to their 9-5 job, knowing that as much as they’ve given to a company, over sometimes many years, that the company is no longer the same as it was and they are no longer valued the way they once were.

I know how that feels!  One day at the end of my shift, I was told my services of 23 years were no longer required. The terror and the pain and the hurt were so overwhelming that in numbness I stumbled out the door with my little box of “stuff”.

I had already started a small side business with a rapidly growing health & wellness company who had for 25 years supported the growth and value in the “little guy” (or gal in my case).  Only by working diligently and consistently and maintaining a steadfast message of caring for people am I able to show people I do care and that I’m not going away.  So many people, first the award-winning author, Marcia Fine, and Alan Pariser, a Corporate Director, and now Renee Preis see something in me that I don’t yet see – but I’m not giving up and I’m not going away!

It is so important to know and be aware of the pain in others.  Everyone is scared and don’t know if what they value today will even be there tomorrow.  I was at a business coaching class last night led by Renee Preis International for Savvy Business Entrepreneurs and had the distinct honor of meeting Bill True, screenwriter & speaker, and he shared with us about the Spirit of the Entrepreneur!  Did you realize that in 1900, 95% of the population in the U.S. were entrepreneurs?  From shopkeepers to salesmen to the blacksmith and the list goes on and on – this isn’t something new!

When the Great Depression hit our nation, people developed what was termed the “American Way”. And, we’ve striven to protect that “way” ever since – that you work 40 hours a week for the same company for 20-30-40 years and you retire from that company with a pension & Social Security.  Well – those days of the “American Way” are really over.  But do NOT fear!  Fear kills and destroys hope and so much more than that!  Don’t let it destroy you! FEAR = False Evidence Appearing Real!

Don’t be afraid of what tomorrow may bring – someone shared with me a few weeks ago that “When God shuts a door, He always opens a window” – just make sure you pull back that curtain and see the sunshine coming in through that window!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Great job, Glenda! you’re tapped into the zeitgeist of what’s happening out there! And, you’ve got a solution to offer!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

