My Old Man…That’s what he calls himself…

Grand Canyon, Arizona. The canyon, created by ...

That is not what I call him. I call him my friend, my confidant, my lover, my help-mate, my soul-mate, and he has now been gone for almost 3 weeks hunting in the mountains with several other people from our church. Big annual deer & elk hunt…spread across half the state of Arizona.

I miss him…so much…and him being gone always reminds me of how much he means to me. I think it’s sad that he has to be gone from my life for me to remember how much I love him…It shouldn’t be that way at all. He will tell me that I have hundreds of brothers & sisters at the church to encourage me and keep me going when the way looks hard…and as much as I love them and they love me –  they’re still not him.

He’s coming home this weekend (God-willing) and I am picking up 2 of my 4 grandbabies to come stay with me until he gets home.  They miss him horribly when he’s gone – He’s the Principal & 5th-8th grade teacher at the private school at Pleasantview and so 3 of my grandbabies see him 5-6 times a week.  Heck – they see him more than I do…

But, tonight after work I am heading over to Pleasantview and hopefully have dinner with my babies and hug them and love them and tell them how much I miss them when I don’t see them.  To let them know too that Papa will be home in just a few more days and he’ll be all dirty and stinky when he walks in.  But that we’ll hold our noses and throw our arms around him and hug him and kiss him like he was the prodigal son coming home.

Then we will DEMAND he take a minimum of a 1 hour shower and come out and kiss us and hug us all over again!!!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Glenda on October 26, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    Oh – and he will be washing in Melaleuca products! – Better Science!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

