Building Trust

In Christopher Avery’s Blog from 9/20/10 – he talks about How You Build Trust — in Business and in Relationships…Team members must have confidence in one another if the team is to be successful. Making and keeping small agreements is how to begin building trust, because if you don’t keep small agreements, you won’t get the chance to make large agreements.

Two rules about agreements:

1. Never make an agreement you don’t fully intend to keep (no matter how small).

2. Clean up all broken agreements at the first opportunity.

This obviously does not just apply to the business world but also can be positively applied to personal relationships with family members and friends.

I have failed at this myself numerous times and always try & strive to do better & more…but I know how critical it is to making and keeping personal & professional relationships.  We count on one another to do what we say – you tell me you’re going to do something and I expect that you will follow through on it. 

I expect the same level of commitment from myself, but you know how hard it is to keep up with all the “I am going to do’s” that we put in our little brains every day?  100’s if not 1000’s – and why? – Because we all want something better than what we have right now – we’re not satisfied with what our lives have become – we want and want and it is all for naught, because in the end – what have we got? – When the soul leaves the body and the body returns to the dust of the earth? – We have lived our lives in 1 of 2 states – a state of grace or a state of legalistic judging.

I am glad it doesn’t go to a vote, but I want, desire, live for a state of grace!  And in that, I want to keep commitments I make so that even in the small things…I can be trusted to fulfill the requirements necessary that people can trust that I’ll do what I say I’ll do.  But if I don’t put requirements on people then – together we can grow –

the Conversion of Saul on the road to Damascus...

Image via Wikipedia

 

The Apostle Paul wrote “that, that I would do – I don’t, and that, that I would not do – that I do” – Who shall deliver me from the flesh of sin – I thank God through Jesus Christ” – that In Him alone is my Rock, – my Savior,  – my Lover, – my Best Friend.  I’m not sure how or why this posting took this turn, but if the Apostle Paul can write that it is of little consequence if another judges me – I don’t even presume to judge myself…Because He was judged for us…

I don’t think when I originally read the excerpt from Christopher Avery’s blog that mine would take this turn, but it did…and I’m glad it did – I love writing about my Lord and I love sharing Him with others.  I don’t do it enough…

Commitment, grace, love, forgiveness – That’s the way to fulfill requirements and commitments…He committed to love me and I’m commited to loving you…How much fun to live life that way!

Easter Lily

Image by Big Grey Mare via Flickr

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Angelica on October 11, 2010 at 10:28 am

    I liked this a lot and agree to the importance of keeping commitments. Say what you mean and mean what you say! I further enjoyed reading of the truth apostle Paul speaks of in wanting to do what is right but not always living up to it. Thank God for mercy, grace & forgiveness. These are crucial in maintaining a relationship with God and helpful in keeping healthy relationships with one another.
    Love one Another we are commanded. I love you and thanks for the read.

    Have a Blessed Day,
    Angelica

    Reply

Leave a Reply

